Ode To Mangos: 5 Mango Recipes and Benefits

Ode to Mangos! I am so in love with my tongues new discovery.. Yes Mangos!!! As common as they are, especially in Texas, I never tasted them. At times I would cruise for recipes on Pinterest or food network and see people create enticing dishes with the flesh of the foreign yellow fruit.  My intentions were to always follow through with buying a mango or two to try during a grocery trip but I would only eye them from 2 feet away near the lemons. I was honestly afraid that it would taste like cantaloupe which I’ve habitually hated since I was kid. But since I started this new journey of not discriminating any fruits or vegetables, I’ve been having a change of heart to taste I thought I didn’t like. However, my crush on mangos continued until one day… I MADE THE FIRST MOVE…

So initially, I bought one mango to make a mango salsa recipe that I’d found on Pinterest to go with baked tilapia. I’d been mentally craving to make this recipe for such a long time as I’d seen celebrity chefs and cooking competitors manipulate it upon end.  Before prepping the rest of my dinner, my anxiety sliced the first sliver of skin from the mango. I savagely but courageously bit my first chunk….And It. Was. So. DANG. ON. GOOD!!!!

It’s tender, juicy, sweet, delicious…probably one of my top food lovers ever. After having my love at first bite moment with mango, I bought tons of them on every trip to the market. I even became obsessed of the benefits that my body could get from binging on these succulent beauties.

I eventually got married to Mango and together we make beautiful love. Each creation/recipe makes me feel good and smile everyday. There are 5 recipes that are my daily staple as they infuse energy and zeal.

1.)Mango and Ginger Water: This recipe is very simple!!!! You will need:

1 mango (shave and cut in cubes)

1  small raw piece of ginger (Shave and cut in cubes)

(2) 8 oz glasses or a gallon of water ( I know the measurements aren’t equal but its easier to push those cubes in the hole of a gallon of water)

Combine all those things together, shake, stir, and BAM …you have a refreshing drink as well as a waist trimming,alkalizing elixir as the mango decalcifies your pineal gland and the ginger spice will suppress your hunger to prevent overeating.

2.) Mango,Yam,and Carrot Smoothie:


You will need:

1 mango (Shaved and cut into cubes)

1 carrot (shaved and cut into cubes)

1/2 yam (shaved and chopped)

1/2 cup of spring water

1 dash of cayenne pepper ( optional)

Add cubed pieces of fruit and vegetables to blender cup or jar first. Pour in spring water. Add optional dash of cayenne. Blend until carrots are fine and smooth. If stiff add more water. Viola!!!! A great breakfast or breakfast snack to start the day🤗

THE mango in the smoothie provides an abundance of water, and the additional spring water added ensures a hydrated start in the morning. Carrots are a body cleanser with its vitamin A components; helping the liver reduce bile and fat. The bananas are mainly used for its sweet creaminess to make the smoothie a star…honestly. Finally the optional dash of cayenne pepper is a booster for your metabolism.

3.) Mango on Peanut Butter Toast: Easy Peazzy Breakfast! You need

1 Mango (shaved and slithered/ sliced)

1 or 2 slices of wheat or rye toast ( I prefer generally use wheat but bread rye bread is better)

2 spoonful of raw peanut butter (ingredients should only read peanuts or it may say peanuts and salt but that’s it)

1-2 dashes of chia seeds (optional)

First toast each piece of toast. Add desired amount of peanut butter to each slice of toast. Add slices of Mango on each slice. Then add a few dashes of Chia seeds to each slice.

The anti-oxidants from the mango and iron from the raw peanut butter is a great energetic snack. The chia seeds also have great components such as Fiber: 11 grams Protein: 4 grams. Fat: 9 grams (5 of which are Omega 3s) and the list goes on.

4.) Mango Sorbet Hack: Ready …here goes: You need:

1 cup of frozen mango ( shaved and cut into cubes)

3/4 cup of coconut water

1 spoonful of agave nectar

First blend frozen mango in blender ( I have a small ninja but any blender is great) Then add the remaining ingredients and pulse. And there you have it!!!! Another ordinary recipe for an extraordinary snack.

5.) Mango Salsa: Yassssss….. last but not least…my first mango baby. I’ve tried lots of recipes I’ve seen on line but I eventually gravitated toward certain ingredients and so I came up with my sort-of original version. You will need:

1 mango (Shaved and diced)

1 roma tomato

1/2 red bell pepper

1 fresh jalapeno (not pickled)

1/2 half white onion

2 teaspoon Olive oil

Salt and pepper to taste

1 teaspoon of lime juice

a few sprigs of cilantro (optional)

Dice all vegetables smaller than corn kernals. Combine. Drizzle olive oil on top. Add chopped cilantro, lime juice, and salt and pepper. This salsa is great as a dip with chips or on a top of tilapia or crostini.

Everything in this dish screams benefit. It’s a minaj et trois with delicious and nutritious.

No worries, mango has enough love to share. Go ahead enjoy life with a mouth full of mango… it may help you become Moorgasmic.

Leave a Reply

